Dome of Soltaniyeh
The central magnet of Soltaniyeh's several ruins is the Mausoleum of Il-khan Öljeitü also known as Muhammad Khodabandeh , traditionally known as the Dome of Soltaniyeh in Soltaniyeh city , Zanjan Province .
The structure , erected from 1302 to 1312 AD , has the oldest double-shell dome in Iran . This erroneous view of the construction was made by Dieulafoy but is totally disputed by Andre Godard . In Godard's view it is a normal , if spectacularly large dome , with a thin skin on top for the faience and is in no way a double dome . Its importance in the Muslim world may be compared to that of Brunelleschi's cupola for Christian architecture . It is one of the largest brick domes in the world , just at the theoretical engineering limit for a brick dome and the third largest dome in the world after the domes of Florence Cathedral and Hagia Sophia . The Dome of Soltaniyeh paved the way for more daring Iranian-style cupola constructions in the Muslim world , such as the Mausoleum of Khoja Ahmed Yasavi and the Taj Mahal . Much of its exterior decoration has been lost , but the interior retains superb mosaics , faience , and murals . People have described the architecture of the building as “anticipating the Taj Mahal” .
The estimated 200 ton dome stands 49 meters (161 ft) tall from its base , and is currently undergoing extensive renovation .
Rakhtshooy Khaneh Edifice
Historical Edifice of Rakhtshooy Khaneh which in means wash-house lies at the historical texture of the Zanjan city and it was built nearly 20th century . This place was used for washing clothes by women around the city . It was constructed by two brothers named Mashad Akbar and Mashadi Esmail . This historic building is currently being used as Zanjan anthropological museum .
Katale khor is a cave located in Zanjan Province , Iran . It is situated at 120 km south of Zanjan city and 410 km away from Tehran . The name , Katale khor , means "mount of Sun" . Geological studies in 1984 showed that the cave formation dates back to the Jurassic period . It is believed that the cave joins to Ali Sadr Cave in Hamadan province . The road from Zanjan to Khatalekhor cave passes Soltaniyeh , the biggest brick dome of the world .
This cave was discovered about 90 years ago but it was registered by Ahmad Jamali .
Jameh Mosque of Zanjan
The JÄ?meh Mosque of ZanjÄ?n also known as , Seyyed Mosque and Sultani Mosque , is the grand , congregational mosque (JÄ?meh) of ZanjÄ?n city , Iran . The mosque is situated in the old part of the city and was constructed in 1826 during the Qajar era . The construction was carried out by Abdullah Mirza Dara who was one of the children of Fat'h ‘AlÄ« ShÄ?h QÄ?jÄ?r .
The mosque contains four iwans on the sides of a large open court . To the east and west of the court sixteen chambers exist running parallel to each other . Facing towards south are more chambers used as residential quarters for theology students . These chambers have vaulted and arched ceilings decorated with artistic tile work . The mosque has four Shabestans , or night prayer halls , each containing a minbar .